What's New

Check out our latest Alumni news:  INSTAGRAM   FACEBOOK   TWITTER   YOUTUBE  

04.03.2018 SXSW

Congratulations to our JSFL Community for 11 SXSW projects this year! Congrats to Director/Screenwriter Shana Feste (Alumni ‘12-’13, 16) for her Headliners World Premiere of “Boundaries”, Director/Screenwriter Dan Gregor (Alumni ‘14) for his Narrative Spotlight World Premiere of “Most Likely To Murder”, Director Miranda Bailey (Alumni ‘15) for her Narrative Spotlight World Premiere of “You Can Choose Your Family”, Director/Screenwriter Adam Bhala Lough (Alumni ‘12) for his Documentary Spotlight World Premiere of “Alt-Right: Age of Rage”, Directors/Screenwriters Jeff Zimbalist and Michael Zimbalist (Alumni ‘07) for thier Documentary Spotlight World Premiere of “Nossa Chape”, Director/Screenwriter Jordan Firstman (Alumni ‘15 ) for his Narrative Short “Men Don’t Whisper”, Producer Sol Tryon (Alumni ‘12) for his Documentary Feature Competition World Premiere of “Weed The People”, Director/Screenwriter Miles Jay (Alumni ‘17) for his Music Video JAY-Z – ‘Smile’, Director Allie Avital (Alumni ‘16-’17) and Cinematographer Ryan Hope (Alumni ‘15) for thier Music Video Moses Sumney – ‘Doomed’, and to Screenwriter Charlotte Stoudt (Alumni ‘15) for her Virtual Cinema “Dinner Party”! Enjoy them all!

04.03.2018 2 DGA Wins

Congratulations to our 5 DGA Alumni Nominees and 2 Winners! Congrats to Niki Caro (Alumni '01-'04, '13) for her first DGA Award win for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children's Programs “Anne with an E” on Netflix - “Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”. And congrats to Martin De Thurah (Alumni '13) for his second DGA win for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials - Festival (StubHub), Machines (StubHub), Mad World (WealthSimple). Click here for Martin's reel at Epoch films!

04.01.2018 NAACP

Proud congratulations to all our JSFL Community represented at the NAACP Film Awards this year - both to our longtime Alumni and to new Alumni from this past January’s Feeling Lab! Congrats to Writer Tracy Oliver (Alumni '18) for “Girls Trip” winning Outstanding Motion Picture and for her Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture Nomination! Congrats to Writer/Director Dee Rees (Alumni ‘08) on several nominations for “Mudbound” - Outstanding Independent Motion Picture, Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture, and Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture! Congrats to Writer/Director Angela Robinson (Alumni ‘99, ‘16) on her Nomination for Outstanding Independent Motion Picture with “Professor Marston and the Wonder Women”! Congrats to Executive Producer Stephanie Allain Bray (Alumni '18) for “Dear White People” and its several nominations - Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series, Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series!

03.30.2018 IndieWire Top 10 Must-See

Congratulations to our JSFL Community featured in IndieWire’s 10 Must-See Short Films of Sundance 2018! Congrats to the whole team that brought “Eve” to Sundance, a project that brings Truth to Story: congrats to Executive Producer/Actor Joan Scheckel who is so proud to be part of the team, Writer/Director/Actor Susan Bay Nimoy (Alumni ‘17), Producer Diana Kunce and Cinematographer/Producer Jim Frohna (Alumni ’98, '06, '11-'16)! Also making the list, congrats to Director Jessica Sanders (Alumni '14) for "End of the Line" on its Sundance 2018 World Premiere, way to go Jessica!